Resilient: the story of Jeri Walker from Wallace, Idaho

I’ve never met Jeri Walker in person and I’ve never been to Wallace, Idaho. In fact, I didn’t even know a town with that name existed. The name Wallace reminds me of some well-dressed villain in a hard-boiled novel, most probably a drug dealer. Besides, the name Walker echoes of far-flung journeys in dark realms and encounters with twisted and dangerous foes. But with valiant allies too. A main character called Walker sounds good with a short, familiar and cozy first name, like say… Jeri.19288738_1490853743.1387_funddescriptionSo we have Jeri Walker, what I would call a strong female character. Yes, because my stories always have strong female characters in them. Most of the times, those are main characters. It could be a teenage girl, an adult woman or a child, each one facing her own foes, obstacles and fears. Each one on her own journey.

Jeri Walker is a teacher, a tough job that envolves high responsibility, that is creating responsible and self-conscious young people, the adults of tomorrow. Tough jobs are for tough people and for the strong ones, problems don’t come one by one, but in well-fastened couples. Jeri has always had family issues (who doesn’t, after all?) from the part of her mother, that’s what I’ve read. Building our own family can help us forgetting the dark times we had with the original one, so Jeri got married. I guess that, in the beginning, this helped in her life. Everyone taking this pivotal step has faith it will help, somehow; that’s how it works. Or should, at least. So Jeri focused on her creativity and along teaching, she also invested in writing. Her own writing. As typical of strong people, Jeri would ask a lot from herself and would search for the writing that would fit her most and in order of doing this, she writes a lot. What would her genre be? Romance? Thriller? Crime story? Fantasy? Dystopian? In the process of her research, Jeri’s husband jumps in a taxi cab and vanishes. I forgot to say that he got issues too, that’s what I’ve read.

So Jeri is alone now but in recent years, her writing activity has lead her to help other fellow writers editing their work. This is a major help for any writer. Jeri goes on, a new love comes into her life and they have a lot of fun. I don’t know but, supposedly, things are going into place, aren’t they? Until someday at the end of last year, one thing popped up in the wrong place, in the shape of a lump, just beneath the skin of her left breast, right above the nipple.19288738_1491592238.0605_updates.jpgJeri and her love discovered it during a playful, sexy moment, in a common and peaceful early morning (yeah, I’d have to filter something in the last sentence, Jeri, I know).

Jeri Walker has breast cancer.

Say it loud, because when my mother had it, she kept silent and I was far away, lost in my self-destructive phase I since killed and buried. So I couldn’t help her. But we can help Jeri. My mom got out of this and what I saw then was a one-boobed warrior, but also a stronger woman. Can this happen? Doesn’t cancer have the tendency to weaken people? I guess it depends on who’s fighting right here and now. The words that define a warrior are many, but in this case, we have one right word.

19288738_1492790694.5308_updatesTo be resilient in such a situation, when you discover you have a deadly foe to fight and overcome and that bitch is right inside of you, you have to do one thing and here I can only guess: you have to get smart. In her resilience, Jeri Walker celebrates her body. Her beauty, her erotic essence and the power of her femininity. She turns herself into a work of art along with her precious ally, the love of her life.

Resilience becomes celebration, the celebration of life and finally Jeri finds what her writing genre will be: narrative non-fiction, in the form of “The abandoned boob chronicles”, right here: https://www.gofundme.com/the-abandoned-boob-chronicles A fine, strong and unearthly realistic depiction of her experience with cancer. Follow Jeri’s updates on the link above, her words explain better than any what she’s going through.

Recent years’ issues left Jeri with limited supply of weapons for her personal struggle, that’s when main characters need help. Support Jeri’s fight during her process of chemo, surgery and whatever implies medical and personal expenses. Heroes need allies and those allies are us. On the link above, you can find how to donate for Jeri’s campaign.

I couldn’t help my mother when she most needed me, but we can help Jeri Walker, the resilient hero.

19288738_1492790114.049.jpg

19 thoughts on “Resilient: the story of Jeri Walker from Wallace, Idaho

  1. This is quite a moving post for me to read, Alessandro. My hometown of Wallace, Idaho has quite the eccentric past. The more I write, the more it will find its way into my fiction and nonfiction. It’s a quirky mining town where most anything goes and has a long history of prostitution. The brothels were active into the early 1990s when the FBI raided the town for illegal gambling. We all have our issues to contend with. Have I had more than my fair share? It’s hard to say. I do know that a breast cancer diagnosis has more than solidified that one of my strengths is sharing my story in as honest a fashion as possible.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. So I am not mistaken in my description of you, Jeri. I let your words inspire me and my instinct do the job. I tend to be honest at the point that when I try to lie, it makes me want to puke.
    Your biographical details match with what I pictured and I will try the best I can to spread the word and help.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Beautifully written. I am amazed you have not met Jeri in person as you write about her with such depth. I agree that Jeri comes across as a strong woman and this will no doubt help her through this challenging time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Phoenicia. I’m glad you liked it. I wrote out of instinct, based upon what I had read about Jeri and upon what she writes. I’m looking forward to visiting Wallace, Boise…Idaho, the States. I’ve never been there either, but now I have good reasons.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. There is so much to see and do in the states! I’m a bit partial to the Pacific Northwest, and Coeur d’Alene, Idaho is a great city and within a day’s drive of Seattle and it’s also only an hour away from my hometown.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. This was a really inspiring post to read. I also love how you approached it by using Jeri as a protagonist in a story. From what I have read from your description of her, Jeri seems like such a strong and resilient person.

    Like

    1. Hi, Emily and thank you! Yes, I’m pretty sure she is. Keep following her, there’s more fight and victory ahead.

      Like

  5. What a wonderful article! I only know Jeri from our online community as well, but I completely agree with your praise and admiration. Thank you for sharing her story!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh Alessandro, this post is very moving, and your mother would have been proud of it. Perhaps this is how you are coming to heal from that… And to honor Jeri with your words, well, that is beautiful indeed β™₯

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Christy.
      It is indeed quite hard to cope with mistakes of the past and I’m still having hard times with my family. But this is how it goes.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Beautiful post…. Jeri is a special woman, and so clever!. This is just an obstacle which I am sure she’ll sort out. The first paragraphs here as to Wallace and Walker are brilliant, BTW. Thank you for sharing 🌹

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I thank you, Aquileana. Yes, resilience will pay off and I’m glad to be part of this. I cannot do much, but I do it with love.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. This is such an inspiring post πŸ™‚
    I have faced obstacles in the form am spinal Tuberculosis and paralysis and still trying to recover from its backlog. I know it’s difficult but we’ll have to and we will!
    Let’s keep pushing πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sushmita, you are right. I used to complain about life while having good health, a home, parents supporting me. A lot of us don’t know how lucky they are in life until tragedy strikes.
      Keep up the good fight!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

