The soundtrack of “Lucy and I” – Part 1: songs inspired by, liked by and dedicated to Lucy

A candy-colored clown…

This is how Frank Booth, the twisted superbad guy from David Lynch’s classic masterpiece “Blue Velvet”, referred to the heartbreaking song by Roy Orbison.

The real title to the song is “In Dreams” and in the film, it is performed in playback by a white clown-ish character called Ben. That is one of the best movie scenes I saw in all my life and it means a lot to me. It takes place in an unearthly moment in time, somehow suspended in a dreamy reality, or in an unreal territory cut out of space and time. The villain Frank gets even moved by the song, so much to the point he can’t stand any longer and pushes the STOP button, retiring the tape from the recorder. For the brief duration of the number, we feel protected, like in a cozy place where everything ‘s really fine. And quiet.

This song is the first I’m including in the “Lucy and I” soundtrack, because it is related to a peculiar and meaningful moment in the story.

For those of you who are not familiar with “Lucy and I”, that is the twitter novel I am writing and you can follow it live on this account: twitter.com/LucyandEye

At the bottom of this page, you can have a taste of the last three tweets.

“Lucy and I” is the story about a friendship that sometimes falls into romantic territory. Or, in this case, romantweet. It is a pull and push relationship between a grown man facing divorce and a young woman about to graduate at university. The two befriend and the main character finds a reason to see the light and joy of life once again. The two share various experiences and their encounters are sometimes marked by a song, or a bizarre occurrence.

Below you can find a link to the song “In Dreams” in its full version and the lyrics, which seem to have been written for the present state of mind of the main character of “Lucy and I”, who’s in pain for finding himself deserted by his precious friend. At some point, he finds himself suddenly alone so that he will start believing that Lucy was just a creation of his subconscious mind and everything they shared was only a series of dreams. Of beautiful dreams. And isn’t that the way we cope with big and painful deceptions? We pretend they never were, or maybe they were just in that untouchable paradise that emerges when we close our eyes and drift away.

 

“In Dreams” – Roy Orbison

A candy-colored clown they call the Sandman

Tiptoes to my room every night

Just to sprinkle stardust and to whisper:

“Go to sleep, everything is all right.”

I close my eyes, then I drift away

Into the magic night, I softly say

A silent prayer like dreamers do

Then I fall asleep to dream my dreams of you.

In dreams I walk with you

In dreams I talk to you

In dreams you’re mine for all the time we’re together, in dreams, in dreams…

But just before the dawn, I awake and find you’re gone

I can’t help it, I can’t help it and if I try

I remember that you said goodbye

It’s too bad that all these things can only happen in my dreams, only in dreams, in beautiful dreams.

2 thoughts on “The soundtrack of “Lucy and I” – Part 1: songs inspired by, liked by and dedicated to Lucy

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

